Pie Crust

November 4, 2009 at 3:14 pm Leave a comment

I’ve attempted my fair share of pie crusts from scratch in my day; sometimes with great success and sometimes, well… not so much. When lazy, or when I just can’t be bothered, I use store bought. I know, shoot me now. *I hang my head in shame*

As a substitute for scratch I recommend:

  • Whole Foods brand in the frozen food section. Made with butter and comes two per package.
  • Oronoque Farms, also in the frozen food section,  is a good choice since it can be found in most supermarkets. It comes three to a pack, in regular and deep dish versions. But the last time I checked the label still listed hydrogenated vegetable shortening.
  • My favorite is Pillsbury’s in the dairy section. Comes two per package and I can use my own pie plate.  Consistently flaky and browns perfectly every time.
Entry filed under: General Info, Tips, & DIYs. Tags: .

Sugar, sugar and more sugar Sweet Potato Pie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Instagram

It's #latke season one and all! Happy #hannukah to you and yours. A #smallbatch of course. #audreycancook #latkelove I bought a fake tree and it's a Coast Redwood. Let the #decorating begin. #christmas in #California #christmastree #decorations #nofilter required when smoke from the #thomasfire envelopes the area. Wonderful canoe ride on #morrobay not Mars. Tx @akayakshack for the rental. Look forward to next time. #audreycancook Finally, only one sleeve to go on this project. I'm grateful that #noroyarn is sturdy, since I've #frogged the body of this sweater twice and the first sleeve three time. Can I say #homestretch now? #knittersofinstagram #knitting #audreycancook Sometimes a #toastedmarshmallow over an open flame is the only thing to satisfy. #audreycancook There are just never enough #teddybears. #knitting #knittersofinstagram #audreycancook

Recent Posts

Categories

Calendar

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930