Lemon Curd – A small batch

June 1, 2010 at 12:48 pm 13 comments

lemon curd

1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 cup lemon juice
2 tablespoons butter

Combine sugar and eggs in a sauce pan over medium heat with a whisk
cook until sugar dissolves and mixture is light in color (about 3 minutes)
stir in lemon juice and butter
cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly (I recommend a silicon covered whisk, or wooden spoon, to avoid discoloring the curd)
chill and serve

Makes about 1 cup

Entry filed under: Desserts, For One or Two, General Info, Tips, & DIYs, Sides & Salads. Tags: .

Buttermilk Biscuits Couscous with Dried Fruit and Nuts

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tes  |  June 1, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    It’s an interesting recipe. What’s it good with?

    Reply
    • 2. Audrey  |  June 1, 2010 at 2:42 pm

      In a sweeter crust as a tart, served with blueberries. On scones or biscuits with clotted cream. In crepes.

      Reply
  • 3. Beth  |  February 18, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Thanks for a really wonderful small batch recipe for lemon curd. I just made it to add as a layer to my lemon mouse pie and it’s absolutely perfect!

    Reply
    • 4. Audrey  |  February 19, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed the recipe. Lemon mousse pie sounds delicious.

      Reply
  • 5. Lisa  |  February 26, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    I found you via a blog search, and just had to come back and say a big thank you for this recipe. I had some juice from some Cypriot lemons that my Mum had sent over to me, and was desperate for it not to go to waste. Your recipe was perfect and so easy to do!

    I shared it with a friend, and she made some today as well.

    Many thanks for this, and hooray for small batch preserving!

    Reply
    • 6. Audrey  |  February 27, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      Wow, this recipe’s getting much attention these days. Thanks for the kind offerings and letting me know my tiny little part of the web is making an appearance. But now I’m getting self conscious about the bad photograph. Maybe it’s time to upgrade.

      Reply
      • 7. Lisa  |  February 27, 2012 at 2:58 pm

        Heh – I know the feeling! I’ve had to go back and change a few shots on my blog too.

        You have inspired many to make curd now. I’m trying not to eat it all with a spoon.

  • 8. Hester  |  January 13, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    I just wanted to let you know that I use this recipe all the time; a 1-egg batch whipped up at the weekend and eaten with fresh scones for breakfast (brunch, of I’m honest!) is just so simple and so luxurious. Works brilliantly with limes or grapefruit instead of or as well as lemons, too, and can be done with bottled juice if I’m out of fresh citrus fruit!

    Reply
    • 9. Audrey  |  January 13, 2013 at 7:07 pm

      Tx for the note and the suggestions. So very glad you like it.

      Reply
      • 10. Lisa  |  January 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm

        You’ve got us all at it. I’m making pomegranate and clementine tomorrow! Thank you again!

      • 11. Audrey  |  January 13, 2013 at 7:17 pm

        ooooo pomegranate!

  • 12. Robin Saville  |  February 19, 2015 at 10:49 pm

    This is a great recipe, wanted a little batch to go with some pancakes and yours was ready in a shade over ten minutes. Thanks so much for making my day a bit nicer.

    Reply
    • 13. Audrey  |  February 20, 2015 at 12:44 am

      So glad to hear you liked it! And glad that it made your day a bit nicer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Instagram

#persimmons are plentiful this time of year. 'What to do with them?' is always the question. I'm considering apple & persimmon #handpies a #smallbatch #audreycancook It's going to be a #smallbatch #thanksgiving this year. #audreycancook #indigo dyed #shibori pillows
#audreycancook Another #leftover creation, skillet #appletart, a #smallbatch #audreycancook Skillet chicken #enchiladas a #smallbatch.  A great recipe for clearing out the fridge. On the blog soon. #audreycancook I've been working on a recipe for #icecream made without a machine. They're all over the web. I'm still not convinced, it's overly sweet and the texture is like frozen mousse. #audreycancook

Recent Posts

Categories

Calendar

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930